The Most Overlooked Virtue of All

About two years ago, I started this blog because I had a message to share: You can reach your fitness goals by making a plan, finding stuff you liked to do, being realistic with your goals, and being disciplined. However, the most important quality of all? Patience.

Patience is probably one of the most under-appreciated, overlooked virtue these days. So much of what we do in the modern world happens at breakneck speeds–not just work, but also socializing too. I feel like the only time my peers slow down is when we eat, and even then, we pause only to take a picture of our food before moving on.

However, because so many parts of our lives sped up, I think that unfortunately also sets unrealistic expectations of what we can and cannot do. Yes, you can physically lose weight quickly (don’t eat). But are you prepared, mentally, for that? I wasn’t. I dropped a lot of pounds in about a year. It probably took me another year to get used to the idea that I was no longer “medically obese.” I also suddenly felt more aware–and judged–for my physical appearance than I ever did when I was chunky. I started caring about the potential opinions and thoughts of people who don’t truly “matter” to me. I played up to the character for a while, and I stopped being me.

In some ways, this was to be expected. After all, I was a different person. However, my mind hadn’t caught up to my body yet. It took time and patience. Maybe just as much as it did to physically drop the weight. After almost two years, I can finally say that my body and mind are relatively in sync.

Anyways. If you’ve read even just one post in this space (hello, my favorite teacher!), you’ll know there has been a dearth of writing here for a while. The biggest reason: I’ve had nothing more to say on this subject. As I said back in December 2014, what I did was simple and can be replicated by anyone. It’s hard, but it can be done. That hasn’t changed, and there are only so many ways to make the same point before it becomes tiresome.

For writers, one of the most important–and hardest–things to recognize is that when you’re done, you’re done. Well, I’m done. I can talk about this topic for a long time (and probably still will), but words are just words. At some point, you have to stop thinking and talking and just do it. And only you can decide when that time works for you.

This has been fun, but it’s time to move (onward and upward) to new projects.

Thanks for reading, friends. One last time… Keep pushing the pile.

– SS

Leave a Reply

